Decoding Dyslexia VA

Home » Uncategorized » Symbol of the Dyslexic Journey

Symbol of the Dyslexic Journey

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,136 other followers

Upcoming Events

June 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

98f420b91282fb728abbaa4b7c363ca4

Before I head into the lazy days of summer, I wanted to take a moment to say thank you to all of the people who have taken the time to reach out about the pqbd symbol. What started as an emblem to provide strength in IEP meetings has blossomed into a deeper symbol of the dyslexic journey. Once again I am humbled by the ways that art can lift and carry us to places that words are unable to achieve. Some of you have told me about your pqbd tattoo, the pqbd jewelry you wear or give, the conversations that were started, but most of all how this dyslexia symbol relates to you. I have received the most inspiring letters and phone calls about how the pqbd symbol has been meaningful on this personal journey. Hearing these stories keeps providing me encouragement for positive change. I thought I would share some simple excerpts. I am collecting these stories and always find them powerful!
Please share yours at www.pqbd.org

Rebecca Warner
pqbd.org

“Love your work and so glad that you have created something to start the
conversation of dyslexia. My 8 year old was diagnosed 2 years ago. I see it
as a gift, but I also know that it truly is a fight to get the help they need. ”
Mary

“All of my life I have dealt with dyslexia and I wanted to put your symbol on my wrist… A sign of being a dyslexic and embracing it. ”
Dylan

“I really want this for my daughter’s teacher who fought to get her identified. We got an
IEP today!”
Julya

“Nothing makes me feel more connected to the power of the common voice for awareness and change (and to my own son’s tiny voice hugging my heart), then when I feel the smooth weight of this shiny symbol against my skin.”
Debby

“My son was so excited to explain the symbolism of the pqbd to his teachers. It was the first time I had told him he might have dyslexia.”
Wendy

Leave a Reply

DDVA Events

«

August 2017

»
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

Follow me on Twitter

