Decoding Dyslexia VA

Home » Uncategorized » 2015 DDVA Session Update

2015 DDVA Session Update

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,136 other followers

Upcoming Events

January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Hello all,
DDVA is preparing for the 2015 Session.  We have done our very best to educate the state representatives on our issues and what we believe those solutions should look like in terms of law.  We have been reminded over and over by our champions at the state level that the goal is to get our issue on the floor.  We will have little control over what may be presented but what we WILL be able to do is, we will be given the opportunity to address our issue in front of our representatives at committee and to keep the dyslexia discussion alive.
I wish I had a bill number or two to pass along at this time but as of today, I do not.  I am confident we will see something.  But I do have an ask…. with the anticipation of bills being introduced, we will need to be prepared to give public testimony.  If each of you could prepare your public comment and have it ready, we will be prepared when the time comes.  
Whether the bills that are introduced are perfect or not, we can share our experiences in that testimony, driving home the need for change.  If we have the opportunity to submit written comment, to flood the committee with stories of dyslexia will make an impact and support those who are able to make the trip to Richmond in person.  If you would like to send any testimony to me, I will get a file started for the 2015 session, please include your name and address.
Please share this email with any and all families who have expressed an interest in seeing change for our dyslexic children. please see below a sample of a public comment to help.  As always please feel free to reach out for further discussion. decodingdyslexiava@yahoo.com
Cheers,
Kristin Kane
Parent

Public Comment Sample:

My name is Jane Doe and I am from Anytown, VA.  I currently have three children attending public schools in Any County Public School System.  My second child is a middle school student and is currently being served by an IEP for SLD.  My son is dyslexic, the dyslexia that is defined in our Virginia State Code.  He is well above average in intelligence and yet struggles with his ability to read, write and spell.  This deficit, in turn, negatively impacts his access to information he should be receiving in his curriculum.  He currently reads at a 4th grade level, three plus years below his peers, and after recent evaluations done by the school this February, he is in the 2% for his spelling and 17% for his writing.

Every year we meet with each of my son’s teachers to start the year off “right”.  Along with labeling a child for services, comes very real misconceptions of the child’s ability and disability.  As parents, we have found it helpful to advocate for our son in a manner that we hope helps both the team and the student.  And yet I feel compelled to bring to light that this disability, dyslexia, is the most wide spread and accounts for 80% of all SLD IEP’s in the state.

Year after year we do our best to educate the staff that will work with my son and year after year I am amazed at the lack of understanding or even base knowledge of the most common learning disability identified for services.  I want to use the word, “injustice”.  This is an injustice for the families relying on the schools for help, and this is an injustice to the teachers and staff who want to help educate our students.

As a public school mom and member of Decoding Dyslexia VA, I am asking for a plan for Virginia to implement:

  • Teacher/staff training on dyslexia, its warning signs and appropriate intervention strategies
  • Early screening tests for dyslexia
  • Evidenced-based dyslexia remediation programs implemented with fidelity which can be accessed by both general and special education populations
  • Access to appropriate “assistive technologies” in the public school setting for students with dyslexia

Thank you for your time.

5 Comments

  1. Kim Stump says:

    Hi Kristin: I am attaching my public comment for you to use whenever possible. I appreciate all you are doing on the legislative level for our dyslexic children. Kim Stump

    Date: Sun, 11 Jan 2015 20:55:32 +0000 To: kimanddavid429@hotmail.com

  2. lature1445 says:

    I am sure you have a copy of my book, DYSLEXIA: A TEACHER’S JOURNEY, Memoir, http://www.amazon.com Please feel free to use situations from my book that would help promote the cause should you wish. I am not a parent. However, as a teacher, I am and have been a strong advocate for persons with dyslexia for many years. I have suffered much stress trying to reason with those in the educational system. Students with dyslexia are and have been, not just neglected, but abused.
    Ruth Lature

  3. Keri Rafter says:

    The moment I realized my daughter was severly dyslexic and not one of her teachers knew anything about dyslexia, I knew I had to become my daughters best advocate. FCPS kept pointing their fingers at each other, deferring and denying the problem existed. Nine years later, my daughter is in high school and the situation has changed very little.
    I would be more than happy to speak out. Thank you for all you do at DDVA.

Leave a Reply

DDVA Events

«

August 2017

»
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

Follow me on Twitter

